Helen Fitt and Angela Curl win Best Presentation while Vikash Kumar and team at NZTA win Best Paper

Helen Fitt winner of best presentation T-Tech Conference 2019
Vikash Kumar ttech19 2 2

Above with Stephen Hewett, (Left) Helen Fitt, winner Best Presentation and (Right) Vikash Kumar, winner, Best Paper 

7/05/2019, Christchurch - At the 2019 T-Tech Future Transport Conference, winners and highly commended presentations were announced in two categories, for best presentation, and also best paper (and associated presentation). Helen Fitt, Lincoln University and Angela Curl, University of Otago won the Best Presentation category with their presentation "Lime and the La-Z-Boy: A story of the social integration of transport technology into urban life". Vikash Kumar of NZTA collected the award for Best Paper entitled "A Scalable Approach towards Predicting Travel Times of Commuter Buses, Trains & Ferries in Real Time" which included the work of four of his NZTA team members, Steven Hayman, Karim Cisse, Shiv Maheshwari, and Edwin Ng.

Winners of each category were gifted a framed certificate and win up to $5000 towards attending an international transport conference, for example, the ITS World Congress which takes place in Singapore later this year. There were also three highly commended certificates presented to Mahmood Hikmet, Ohmio Automotion for his presentation as well as to Paul Minnett, of Tripconvergence and Dr Glen Koorey of Viastrada for their papers and associated presentations. 

Leading up to the event, papers and presentations had been called for in late 2018, and with close to 40 submissions received, after screening, 8 presentations and 20 papers were selected to be presented to the conference.

The 170 delegates at the conference were then invited to vote via the ITSNZ website identifying the two best in each category on the content and delivery of each category, the judging panel totalled scores, identifying the winners and a number of highly commended entries which were of very high calibre and popular with voters.  

Chief Judge Stephen Hewett, ITSNZ VP of International Programme and part of the T-Tech events committee announced the winners and presented the certificates, as pictured below.

"The calibre across all speakers and papers was extremely high, making the task for judges very tough, and it was not clear who would win until delegates cast their votes at the conclusion of T-Tech's first day." said Hewett.  

"Being the first time we have called for papers we were extremely pleased to receive such a good number of submissions on a diverse range of topics. The presentations included real-world projects, innovative concepts and research outcomes, all delivered by experts in their fields. The topics which covered everything from Mobility as a Service (MaaS), public transport, traffic management to transport behaviours and aligned perfectly with T-Tech's wider future transport themes."  

 "With submissions coming from industry, academia and government, it really encapsulates what ITS New Zealand aims to achieve with the conference, bringing together all sectors to share and discuss innovations, research and project outcomes."

All papers and presentations are available for ITSNZ members via the website, and also for conference attendees until the end of July.  

The three best papers are available to view here: 

Vikash Kumar, NZTA | A Scalable Approach towards Predicting Travel Times of Commuter Buses, Trains & Ferries in Real Time

Dr Glen Koorey, Viastrada | Who should control Mobility as a Service?

Paul Minnett, Tripconvergence | Buying decongestion: Crazy idea or credible solution?


Below with certificates presented by Stephen Hewett: (Left) Dr Mahmood Hikmet, Ohmio Automotion, Highly Commended Presentation, (Middle) Dr Glen Koorey, Viastrada, Highly Commended Paper and (Right) Paul Minnett, Tripconvergence, Highly Commended Paper  

Dr Mahmood Hikmet Highly Commended Presentation T-Tech Conference 2019
Dr Glen Koorey Highly Commended paper
Paul Minnett highly commended paper T-Tech Conference 2019