David Vinsen has stepped down after 2 years.  

Mike Rudge ITSNZ ChairMike Rudge has been appointed Chair of ITSNZ to replace David Vinsen who stepped down from the role in October after 2 years in the role.

Mike Rudge was unanimously appointed to the role, having been ITSNZ Treasurer for the past two years. Mike has just established Rudge Consulting ltd after more than 25 years with Stantec NZ (and its predecessors).

Mike has been a board member of ITS NZ since 2017 and since returning to NZ three years ago had led Stantec’s ITS and Connected Vehicle business for Australia and NZ. He is passionate about the increasing role transport technology can play in providing or enabling solutions to NZ’s Transport, Carbon and Urban challenges.

Vinsen oversaw significant progress at ITSNZ, including the growth of membership, an expanded annual conference (T-Tech), a transparent strategy and bi-annual business plan and membership growth, his board management experience was invaluable during this time.  

Stephen Hewett (below left)was recently appointed President of ITSNZ and takes on the international responsibilities contributing to ITS Asia-Pacific Board, ITS World Congress and ITS Asia-Pacific forum activities, taking over from Mohammed Hikmet. While Andrew Gurr (below right) retains the position of Vice President, having already held that position for two years.

The board members were nominated at the AGM in September and subsequently the roles were decided amongst the members of the board. The board has also committed to co-opting non-voting representatives from the Ministry of Transport (Richard Cross) and Waka Kotahi, the NZ Transport Agency (Lee McKenzie). 

The board has also committed to co-opting both a new non-voting board member from academia and also a youth representative, the appointments are expected to be made shortly.   

 Meet the board 

Stephen HewettAndrew Gurr2